Telangana to be 29th state today

 According to the sources in the Ministry of Home affairs, a notification will be issued revoking the President’s rule in the areas forming part of Telangana. However, the central rule will continue in the residual Andhra Pradesh till TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu takes charge as chief minister.

TRS leader K Chandrasekhar Rao would be sworn in as the first chief minister of the new state at 8.15 am in Raj Bhawan. President’s rule was imposed in Andhra Pradesh on 1 March after N Kiran Kumar Reddy resigned as Chief Minister following Parliament’s nod for bifurcation of the state to create separate Telangana, consisting of 10 districts from the united Andhra Pradesh. According to official sources, the division of assets and employees has almost been completed. Besides the new official seal, 44 IAS and 31 IPS officials and 9893 state level employees are ready to serve the new Telangana state. The centre has issued ‘Order to Serve’ to these employees to ensure smooth functioning of the new administration. Andhra Pradesh Governor E S L Narasimhan has been asked to hold additional charge of the new Telangana state. The state administration has planned a a week long celebrations of state formation.

The Telangana state comes into existence after a five decade long struggle. The official song ‘Jai Jai he Telangana’ is set to echo in the entire region while the official seal with the historic Kakatiya Rock Arch and the Charminar with the letters in Telugu, English and Urdu is waiting for its first impression on the state Gazette when K C Rao is sworn in as the CM.
Next Story
Share it