Telangana still a few steps away, but race for CM post begins

The group of ministers (GoM), set up to look into the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh, has finalised its report along with the draft Telangana Bill but remained non-committal on when it will be submitted to the union cabinet.

After getting cabinet nod, the Bill has to be tabled in Parliament, whose winter session begins early next month.

Notwithstanding the absence of any clear timeline, these leaders are hopeful that the new state will become a reality in the next two months.

According to party sources, three union ministers, half a dozen members of Andhra Pradesh cabinet, a few legislators/MPs besides others are in the race for the top post. None of them has gone on record about their aspiration, but they are silently lobbying their case, they said.

Topping the list is Union Science and Technology Minister S Jaipal Reddy. Behind him are state deputy chief minister C Damodara Rajanarasimha, union minister of state for road transport Sarvey Satyanarayana, Rajya Sabha member V Hanumantha Rao, National Disaster Management Authority vice- chairman Marri Sashidhar Reddy, senior AP ministers K Jana Reddy, J Geeta Reddy and Ponnala Lakshmaiah, they said.

Other ministers in the Kiran Kumar Reddy cabinet like Basavaraj Saraiah, D Sridhar Babu, P Sudershan Reddy and N Uttam Kumar Reddy, too, are fancying their chances while members of Legislative Council D Srinivas and Mohd Ali Shabbir have also thrown their hat into the ring.

Union minister of state for Tribal Affairs Balram Naik's name is also being heard in the Congress circles here as a probable candidate for the CM's post. Sashidhar Reddy, however, denied he was in the race. 'There is a race but I am not in there,' he claimed.

Sarvey and Hanumantha Rao said they were not averse to taking up the job but left the choice to 'amma' (Congress president Sonia Gandhi). 'If there's amma's grace, I can become chief minister. I have the experience and the ability to take up the job,' Sarvey said. Hanumantha Rao, a former minister and a three-time MP, has left the selection to Gandhi's discretion but exuded confidence that a backward class leader would become the first chief minister of Telangana.
Next Story
Share it