Survey gives 227 seats to NDA, predicts huge loss for Congress

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is projected to win 227 seats in the Lok Sabha elections, 45 short of the magic mark of 272 in a house of 543, according to C Voter poll projection released Thursday.

The Congress-led United Progressive Alliance (UPA) is projected to win 101 seats, said the survey conducted this month.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is projected to raise its tally from 116 seats in 2009 to 202, while the Congress tally is expected to drop steeply from 206 in 2009 to 89 this time, it said.

 The NDA’s projected tally showed the following break-up: BJP 202, Shiv Sena 15, Akali Dal 5, Republican Party of India (Athawale) 2, Swabhimani Paksha 1, National Peoples Party (NPP) 1, Haryana Janhit Congress 1. Total 227.

The UPA’s projected tally showed this break-up: Congress 89, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) 5, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) 1, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) 2, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) 2, National Conference 1, Kerala Congress (Mani) 1. Total 101.

Others parties which are either part of the Third Front or outside and Independents – were projected to get 215 seats, with the AIADMK taking the lion’s share of 27 seats.

The break-up for others: Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) 7, Samajwadi Party 20, Left Front 27, AIADMK 27, BSP 21, Trinamool Congress 24, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) 12, Biju Janata Dal (BJD) 12, YSR Congress 13, Telangana Rashtra Samiti 10, Janata Dal-United (JD-U) 5, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 10, DMK 5, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha 2, Janata Dal-S 2, Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) 0, Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) 1, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) 1, Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) 1, MDMK 1, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) 2, AUDF 1, Bodoland People’s Front 1, Nationalist People’s Front 1, Sikkim Democratic Front 1, Majlis Ittehadul Muslimeen 1, Independent 1. Total 215.

The BJP and Lalu Prasad’s RJD are going to upstage Nitish Kumar’s JD-U in Bihar, winning 21 and 12 seats respectively, and relegating JD-U to only 5 seats, the survey said.

The BJP is going to make a big comeback in Uttar Pradesh, winning 34 seats (up from 10 in 2009), followed by BSP 21, SP 20, Congress 4 and Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal 1.

Asked who they would prefer to elect prime minister between Rahul Gandhi and Narendra Modi, a whopping 59.1 percent of people in the survey opted for Modi, while 26.7 percent opted for Gandhi.
Asked which alliance should form the next government, 47.2 percent preferred NDA, 35.1 percent preferred UPA, and only 3.7 percent preferred the Third Front, with the remaining saying they don’t know.

Delhi’s ruling Aam Aadmi Party is projected to get 7 seats, 3 from Delhi, and one each from Haryana, Maharashtra, Karnataka and one union territory.
Next Story
Share it