Six Cong MPs from Seemandhra give notice for no confidence motion

In an embarrassment to Congress, six of its MPs from Seemandhra on Monday gave notice for a no-confidence motion against Manmohan Singh government to protest creation of Telangana issue and were joined by TDP and YSR Congress Party in this endeavour.
The Seemandhra MPs, four TDP members of Lok Sabha and three members of YSR Congress Party led by Jaganmohan Reddy gave separate notices to speaker Meira Kumar for moving the no-trust motion.

In their letter to Kumar, the Congress MPs from Seemandhra sought permission to move a motion expressing no-confidence in the union council of ministers under Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedures and Conduct of Business in the Lok Sabha.

The MPs have been strongly opposing division of Andhra Pradesh and have submitted their resignations from Lok Sabha which have not been accepted.

Soon after, four TDP members also shot off an identical letter to the Speaker, seeking permission to move no-confidence motion. Sources claimed that the Congress MPs from Seemandhra took TDP into confidence on the matter and they acted on the same lines. ‘We may be rivals in our State. But, we are joining hands for the cause of United Andhra,’ one of the Seemandhra MPs told a news agency.

The MP claimed that they were in talks with other parties as well, for pulling down the government, which is pushing for dividing Andhra Pradesh against the wishes of Seemandhra people. ‘If the government is not there, the bill would not come to the parliament,’ the MP said.
YSRCP also gave notice for the no-trust motion.

Any move to bring a no-confidence motion requires the support of some 50 odd members, ten per cent of the membership of the House.

The 15th Lok Sabha has not seen any no-confidence motion. A plan by Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress to bring it over a year back came a cropper as it failed to find the requisite support. Trinamool has 19 members in Lok Sabha.

The plan of the Congress MPs appears to be to embarrass the government on the Telangana issue by seeking support of those opposed to the division of Andhra Pradesh or creation of smaller states.

The Congress MPs, who signed the joint letter to the Speaker, were R Sambasiva Rao, Sabbam Hari, V Arun Kumar, A Saiprathap, L Rajagopal and G V Harshakumar.

The TDP MPs to sign the letter were K Narayana Rao, N Sivaprasad, Nimmala Kristappa and Venugopala Reddy. TDP has five members in the Lok Sabha and one of them did not sign the letter. The three members of YSR Congress who sent the joint letter to the Speaker were YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy and S.P.Y. Reddy.

A Congress MP from Seemandhra said they are working to muster the support of requisite MPs and some other political parties were ready to extend support in their mission to bring down the UPA government.
Next Story
Share it