Political battle starts for five Parliamentary seats in Uttarakhand

In the last Lok Sabha polls, Congress stunning victory in all parliamentary seats in Uttarakhand broke the neck of BJP. BJP is ready to rise from the ashes, and equalize the old score.

To sooth the tense nerves, BJP snatched one seat from Congress in the bye-elections of Tehri constituency, when former CM Vijay Bahuguna vacated the MP seat to contest bye-assembly polls from Sitarganj to fulfill the norms. Earlier, Congress candidate Bahuguna defeated BJP ace-shooter Jaspal Rana by huge margins. But his own son Saket Bahuguna could not repeat the feat of his father. In the bye-election of 2012, Mala Rajlaxmi Shah of BJP came out victorious in a tight contest.

This time 67.81 lakh voters in the state will decide the fate of five MPs to represent Uttarakhand in the parliament. The election contest will primarily be fought between two arch rivals BJP and Congress.  With Modi wave mainly blowing in Hindi-belt states, local BJP leaders are hopeful that this time saffron party will take revenge by reversing the results of 2009 Lok Sabha polls. According to BJP national secretary Trivendra Singh Rawat, ‘We are working on ‘mission five’ from the past four months. During ‘Gaon chalo, ghar-ghar chalo’ campaign, we connected people from every corner of the state. They are desperate to throw out corrupt UPA govt from the centre. The failure of ruling state Cong party on all fronts has disappointed people from plains to hill regions.

Ahead of the general elections, the Uttarakhand Congress will kick start their padyatra from Haridwar on 11 March, according to UPCC president Yashpal Arya. With an aim to reach out to the common man, the senior leaders of Congress will convey achievements of the party such as food security bill, one rank, RTI bill, ‘one pension’ in armed forces etc. Most probably, CM Harish Rawat will also participate in the padyatra in his constituency.  It is important to mention here that in last general elections, Harish Rawat emerged as giant killer by defeating his nearest rival Swami Yatendranad Giri of BJP by a margin of more than one lakh votes.
Next Story
Share it