Saffron storm blows away UP rivals

Exactly six years after the massive Tsunami wrought havoc in Japan, BJP's 'Tsunami' hit its rivals in the politically crucial state of Uttar Pradesh, enabling the saffron party to virtually decimate the opposition.

"The Tsunami, which had hit Japan's Fukushima on March 13, 2011 had brought significant damage to Japan. And, the BJP's Tsunami has simply decimated its political rivals," the UP BJP's chief spokesperson Hriday Narayan Dikshit told media.

Dikshit, who himself contested the assembly elections from Unnao's Bhagwantnagar constituency, won by a margin of 53,366 votes.

One of the earliest reference to Tsunami was made on Saturday by Dr Sudhanshu Trivedi, the BJP's national spokesperson, when he said, "PM Modi's Tsunami has blown off all the caste equations in the state."

Even BJP president Amit Shah had been continuously reiterating during his election meetings in the ongoing assembly elections that BJP's Tsunami was blowing throughout the state.

Former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar Abdullah on Saturday tweeted, "How the hell did almost all the experts/ analysts miss this wave in UP? It's a tsunami not a ripple in a small pond."

Senior state BJP leader and former president of UP BJP Surya Pratap Shahi took pleasure in the fact that the first seat in 2017 assembly elections went to the BJP when its candidate from Dhanaura Rajeev Kumar won by a margin of 38,229 votes. He defeated Jagram Singh of the SP.

Speaking to reporters, BJP's firebrand leader and MP from Gorakhpur Yogi Aditynath said the people of Uttar Pradesh have voted for development, while UP BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya exuded confidence that the party is forming the government in UP with an overwhelming margin.

"The people of the state have given a clear mandate for development and they have overwhelmingly rejected the pre-poll alliance of the Congress and the Samajwadi Party," he said.

Maurya, who is also the BJP MP from Phulpur Lok Sabha constituency in Allahabad, said the party is forming the government in the state.

On December 31, 2016, BJP's national spokesperson Shrikant Sharma had claimed that there is a 'Tsunami' in the favour of BJP.

Sharma contested from Mathura and defeated senior Congress leader Pradeep Mathur by 1,01,161 votes.

In all, 13 candidates contested from Mathura. Some of the prominent ones included senior Congress leader Pradeep Mathur and Ashok Agarwal of Rashtriya Lok Dal.
Surpassing expectations, the BJP along with ally Apna Dal (Soney Lal) bagged nine out of the 12 assembly seats in this large and volatile district, decimating the Samajwadi Party-Congress alliance, which won on one seat, while the BSP's tally fell from three to two.
Next Story
Share it