NC, PDP candidates file nominations for Srinagar

National Conference President Farooq Abdullah and ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Nazir Ahmad Khan on Monday filed nominations for the Srinagar Lok Sabha by-election.

Farooq Abdullah filed his nomination at the office of Srinagar District Development Commissioner Farooq Ahmed Lone, the returning officer for the constituency.

He was accompanied by his son and former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah and Congress leaders G.A. Mir and Tariq Hameed Karra.

When PDP's Nazir Ahmad Khan filed his papers, he was accompanied by senior PDP leaders Muzaffar Hussain Baig and Imran Raza Ansari.

Voting for the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat is scheduled on April 9.

The seat fell vacant after Tariq Hameed Karra resigned from the PDP and the Lok Sabha last year.

Karra later joined the Congress and would campaign for Farooq Abdullah as the National Congress and the Congress are fighting the by-poll jointly.
Next Story
Share it