BJP will have to wait till 2019 for 'acche din' in Rajya Sabha

Even after the emphatic victory in Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) may have to wait till 2019 for the absolute majority in Rajya Sabha.The elections are due in April 2018 for 58 vacancies and out of it, 10 seats are from Uttar Pradesh. The BJP is expected to win nine seats easily.

In rest of the 49 vacancies, 30 are for BJP and NDA allies dominated states like Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Also, from all these states, NDA is expected to win more than 25 seats. Uttar Pradesh sends 31 MPs to Rajya Sabha, Uttarakhand three while Goa and Manipur send one each and Punjab seven.

Congress will be defeated in April 2018 elections in Rajya Sabha for 55 vacancies. The party's current strength of 59 members will reduce to around 30 MPs. The strength of parliamentarians from UP predominantly from Samjawadi Party and BSP will be reduced sharply in Rajya Sabha in the coming years.

Currently, the Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) have 18 and six MPs respectively in the Upper House and most of these MPs cannot re-visit the Rajya Sabha till 2022 owing to BJP's huge success of bagging 310 seats in the assembly election. The important leaders that would not get a Rajya Sabha berth from UP include Naresh Agarwal (SP), Jaya Bachchan (SP), Pramod Tiwari (Congress) and BSP chief Mayawati.

In April 2018, vacancies will arise from Bihar, Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh and West Bengal while in January 2018, Congress will lose three MPs from Rajya Sabha in the vacancies from Delhi. Also, AAP will get all these three seats to make their maiden entry in the Upper House. At present is Congress is having 59 MPs and BJP is having 56 MPs in the total strength of 245 MPs in Rajya Sabha.

Other major parties in Rajya Sabha are Trinamool Congress with 11 MPs, AIADMK with 13 MPs and DMK with four MPs. The JD(U) is having 10 MPs and RJD is having three MPs and the tally of both parties will increase in the next year's election in Rajya Sabha. The BJP's ally TDP is having six MPs and TRS is having three MPs and their numbers will increase in April 2018's election.
Next Story
Share it