AP 'invaded' our territory, changed names of villages & notified polls, Odisha tells SC

AP invaded our territory, changed names of villages & notified polls, Odisha tells SC

New Delhi: More than five decades since the first status quo order on territorial jurisdiction dispute with Andhra Pradesh over 21 villages, Odisha moved the Supreme Court once again on Thursday seeking contempt action against AP officials for notifying Panchayat polls in three villages controlled by it.

The Naveen Patnaik government has said the notification amounts to invading Odisha's territory. The dispute over territorial jurisdiction over 21 villages popularly called as Kotia Group of villages first reached the top court in 1968 when Odisha on the basis of three notifications -- December 1, 1920, October 8, 1923 and October 15, 1927 -- claimed that Andhra Pradesh had trespassed its well-defined territory.

During the pendency of suit filed by Odisha, the top court had on December 2, 1968 directed both the states to maintain status quo till the disposal of suit and said, there shall be no further ingress or egress on the territories in dispute, on the part of either party . The suit filed by Odisha under Article 131 of the Constitution was finally dismissed on technical ground by the top court on March 30, 2006, and with the consent of both the states it directed that status quo be maintained till the dispute is resolved.

Now, the Odisha government has sought contempt action against Andhra Pradesh's three senior officials -- Mude Hari Jawaharlal (contemnor-1), collector of Vizinagaram district; Adityanath Das, Chief Secretary of AP (contemnor-2), and N Ramesh Kumar, State Election Commissioner of Andhra Pradesh (contemnor-3).

Apparently, the said notification issued by contemnor number 1 in unison with contemnor number 2 and 3 is to invade into the territory of the petitioner state at the cost of wilful and violation of order of this court. Therefore the contemnors are to be called upon to explain as to why contempt proceedings shall not be drawn against them and appropriate punishment shall not be awarded to them, it said.

Next Story
Share it