All 22 new AIIMS to be functional by 2025: Govt

New Delhi: If the claims of the government-led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi are to be believed, all the 16 new AIIMS would become fully operational by February 2023. Besides, AIIMS-Delhi, the six AIIMS that was announced by the late Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee have already become fully operational.

In a written reply in Lok Sabha, the Health Ministry has stated that the government has sanctioned setting up of 22 AIIMS under the Pradhan Mantri Swasthya Surakhsha Yojana (PMSSY) in several states as per the budget announcements.

As per the claims of the Health Ministry, all the six AIIMS – Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Jodhpur, Patna, Raipur and Rishikesh -- that was announced in the first phase are functional, while AIIMS Rae Bareli would be functional by June 2020. The government has released Rs 342 crore for AIIMS-Rae Bareli.

The AIIMS-Mangalagiri in Andhra Pradesh would be operational by October 2020 and the government has spent over Rs 496 crore for the setting up of the institute. Other AIIMS that would be functional by October 2020 include AIIMS Nagpur (Maharashtra), AIIMS Kalyani (West Bengal), while AIIMS Gorakhpur would start its operation a few months earlier in April 2020.

Some of the premier institutions belonging to phase-V would also become operational in 2020, while some of it would become functional by 2025. As per the Health Minister's claims, AIIMS Bathinda (Punjab) would start its functioning in June 2020, AIIMS Guwahati (Assam) in April 2021, AIIMS Bilaspur (Himachal Pradesh) in December 2021, AIIMS Madurai (Tamil Nadu) in September 2022, AIIMS Jammu in January 2023, AIIMS Kashmir in January 2025 and AIIMS Jharkhand in February 2022.

The AIIMS Rajkot (Gujarat) would be operational in October 2022, while AIIMS Bibinagar (Telangana) would also come into operation one month earlier in the same year and AIIMS Manethi (Haryana) would be functional in February 2023. Apart from 22 new AIIMS, proposals for setting up AIIMS-like hospitals have been received from Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Tripura and Mizoram.

Next Story
Share it