Millennium Post

Mizoram CM to face tough contest

Lathanhawla had contested and won six times from this seat and lost only once in 1998 to a retired engineer K Thangzuala of the Mizo National Front (MNF).

This time, MDA, the three-party alliance of the MNF, Mizoram People’s Conference (MPC) and the Maraland Democratic Front (MDF) is trying to repeat the 1998 debacle of the chief minister.

In 2008, Lalramzauva, who contested the polls from Serchhip constituency on a Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) ticket, lost to Lalthanhawla by a margin of 952 votes and by a margin of 1,399 votes in 2003.

The chief minister would also contest from Hrangturzo constituency in Sechhip district, which was being occupied by Lalthansanga of the MPC, now a common candidate of the MDA.

Another seat to watch out for would be the East Tuipui in Mizoram-Myanmar border Champhai district where former chief minister Zoramthanga of the opposition MNF was pitted against a retired senior bureaucrat T Sangkunga of the Congress.

Till recently, Sangkunga was the president of the powerful central committee of the Young Mizo Association (YMA), the apex Mizo body.

Zoramthanga, the two-time chief minister and former underground leader, had contested and won from this seat in 1998 and vacated the seat in favour of his close aide K Vanlalauva as he also won from Champhai seat, his home turf.

A stiff battle is expected in Kolasib seat along the Assam border where the Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) chief Lalduhawma is pitted against state Transport Minister and Congress nominee PC Zoram Sangliana and former Speaker Lalchamliana of the MDA.

Lalduhawma would contest from two constituencies and would face opposition in his home turf, Aizawl West-I seat from TBC Tlangthanmawii, president of the state Mahila Congress and former minister K Sangthuama of the MNF.

Tlangthanmawii was the only woman candidate of the ruling Congress while Lalmalsawmi of the MNF, contesting from the Tawi seat in Aizawl district against state home minister R Lalzirliana, was the only woman candidate of the MNF. The ZNP does not have any woman candidate.
Next Story
Share it