Millennium Post

Lok Sabha Speaker rejects resignations of 13 Andhra MPs

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Friday rejected the resignations submitted by 13 MPs from Andhra Pradesh, including ten from Congress and two of YSR Congress, against the decision on Telangana, holding these were ‘not voluntary or genuine’.

The YSR Congress MPs included party chief Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy.

The Speaker held that the resignations were ‘not voluntary or genuine’, an official announcement said here.

‘The resignations of messers... have not been accepted by the Speaker, Lok Sabha, in terms of provisions of Article 101 (3) of the Constitution and Rule 240 of Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha’, the announcement said.

The members who had tendered the resignations were S P Y Reddy, G V Harsha Kumar, A Sai Prathap, L Rajagopal, Sabbam Hari, Anantha Venkatarami Reddy, V Aruna Kumar, Magunta Sreenivasulu Reddy, Bapi Raju Kanumuri, Rayapati Sambasiva Rao (all Cong), Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, M Rajamohan Reddy and Konakalla Narayana (TDP).

Article 101(3) speaks of rejection of a resignation of a member if the Lok Sabha Speaker is ‘satisfied’ that it is ‘not voluntary or genuine’. Rule 240 is also of a similar nature.

The members who had resigned belong to Seemandhra region which has been witnessing protests over the decision on formation of Telangana state.
Next Story
Share it