Millennium Post

Lalu Prasad, Jagdish Sharma disqualified from Lok Sabha

While Prasad stands disqualified for a total of 11 years — five years of jail term and six years subsequent to his release, Sharma stands disqualified for ten years — four years in jail and six more years after that as per electoral laws.

Theirs is the first disqualification from the Lok Sabha after the Supreme Court struck down a provision that protects a convicted lawmaker from disqualification on the ground of pendency of appeal in higher courts.

The first disqualification from Parliament came on Sunday when 66-year-old Masood, a Congress member of the Rajya Sabha, was held guilty in a case of corruption and other offences in September.

Lok Sabha Secretary General S Bal Shekar has issued the notifications disqualifying Lalu and Sharma. The Election Commission has also been intimated about the disqualification and the subsequent creation of vacancies in the Lok Sabha.

Their disqualification came on Sunday night after Rajya Sabha disqualified Congress MP Rashid Masood earlier on Sunday after his conviction in a graft case.

65-year-old Prasad, convicted in the fodder scam, was sentenced to five years in prison and imposed with a fine of Rs. 25 lakh. He was till now an MP from Saran in Bihar. Sharma (63) too was sentenced to four years imprisonment in the case. He represented Jahanabad in Bihar.

The Rajya Sabha notification said Masood stands disqualified as an MP from September 19, the day he was convicted by the CBI court. Citing provisions of the Representation of the People Act, it said he will remain disqualified for the period of his sentence and will continue to remain disqualified for a further period of six years after his release.

Masood’s conviction was the first after the Supreme Court struck down a provision in the electoral law that provided immunity to MPs and MLAs from immediate disqualification.

In its 10 July judgement, Supreme Court had struck down sub-section 4 of Section 8 of Representation of the People Act, under which incumbent MPs, MLAs and MLCs can avoid disqualification till pendency of the appeal against conviction in a higher court.

The appeal has to be made within three months of the conviction

Seeking to negate the SC verdict, government had introduced a Bill in Parliament in the Monsoon session. But following differences with the opposition, the bill could not be passed.

An ordinance on the lines of the Bill was later cleared by the Union Cabinet on 24 September, to protect convicted lawmakers.

But reversing its earlier step, the Cabinet on 2 October  decided to withdraw the Ordinance as well as Bill in the wake of public outburst against it by Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi.
Next Story
Share it