Lalu offers one more seat to Cong to seal alliance deal

After prolonged negotiations over seat-sharing in Bihar, the RJD, NCP and the Congress on Wednesday reached an agreement to form a ‘secular alliance’ for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections. RJD president Lalu Prasad accompanied by Bihar Pradesh Congress Committee chief Ashok Chaudhary announced the tie-up of the three parties here for 40 parliamentary seats in the state at 10 Circular Road residence of former CM Rabri Devi.

The Aurangabad seat was added to the original offer of 11 seats given by the RJD chief to the Congress after talks between Prasad and outgoing Kerala governor Nikhil Kumar on Tuesday. Prasad said as per the seat-sharing arrangement, Congress would contest on 12 seats, NCP on one while RJD would contest on the rest 27 seats.
Next Story
Share it