BJP announces list of candidates for Bengal

Kolkata: State BJP has announced its candidate list on Thursday, ahead of the highly anticipated Lok Sabha elections.

Bharati Ghosh, the controversial former IPS officer who has recently joined BJP, will contest from the Ghatal constituency.

State BJP president Dilip Ghosh will contest from the Midnapore seat, while Rahul Sinha will contest from the Kolkata North constituency.

Two Trinamool Congress MPs, Saumitra Khan and Anupam Hazra, who had been expelled from the party, will contest from the Bishnupur (SC) and Jadavpur Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

Locket Chatterjee has been fielded from the Hooghly Lok Sabha seat, whereas former party MLA Shamik Bhattacharya will contest from the Dum Dum Lok Sabha seat.

Former Trinamool Congress MLA Arjun Singh will contest from the Barrackpore Lok Sabha seat, while Babul Supriyo has been re-nominated from the Asansol Lok Sabha seat.

Lastly, state BJP secretary Sayantan Basu will contest from the Basirhat seat, while Chandra Bose has been fielded from the Kolkata South seat.

Next Story
Share it