Kaif, Ravi Kishan in Cong Lok Sabha list

The Congress on Saturday evening declared its first list of Lok Sabha candidates, after several rounds of deliberations in the party. ‘The central election committee (CEC) has declared names of 194 Lok Sabha seats, 35 per cent of the candidates are youth, 15 per cent are women,’ said senior Congress leader Madhusudan Mistry. From the list of 194, 28 are are women candidates. The central election committee, headed by party president Sonia Gandhi, has finalised the list which included several sitting members including union ministers.

New entrants include Bhojpuri star Ravi Kishan who will contest from Jaunpur, Oriya actors Aparajita Mohanty from Cuttack and Bijay Mohanty from Bhubeneshwar. Adding to the star-studded set is the entry of cricketer Mohammad Kaif who has been fielded from Phulpur. Also Atal Behari Vajpayee’s niece Karun Shukla has got a ticket from Bilaspur and Justice Hanumanthappa will be contesting from Bellary in Karnataka. Also chairman of the Unique Identification Authority of India ((UIDAI) and Infosys co-founder chairman Nandan Nilekani will contest from Bangalore South.

Party president Sonia Gandhi will contest from Rae Bareily, while son and also Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi will fight from Amethi. Union minister Salman Khurshid will contest from Farrukhabad and the his colleague Sriprakash Jaiswal from Kanpur. Kamal Nath will contest yet again from Chhindwara. Also in the league is Mallikarjun Kharge will fight from Gulbarga. Union ministers - Jyotiraditya Scindia will fight from Guna (Madhya Pradesh), Girija Vyas  from Chittorgarh (Rajasthan). From Uttar Pradesh ministers Jitin Prasada from Dhaurahra, RPN Singh from Khushi Nagar and Beni Prasad from Gonda  have been fielded by the party.

Priya Dutt will contest from Mumbai North Central and Sushil Kumar Shinde from Solapur. Naveen Jindal will yet again be contesting from Kurukshetra . Haryana chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda’s son Deepender will be contesting from Rohtak. Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar  will contest from Sasaram in Bihar. Also union minister Charan Das Mahant will be fighting from Korba (Chhattisgarh). Ranjeet Ranjan, Pappu Yadav’s wife, will contest on Congress ticket from Supaul in Bihar.

In West Bengal, the candidates will be fighting from their existing constituencies - President Pranab Mukherjee’s son Abhijit will be contesting from Jangipur, former union minister Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi’s wife Deepa Dasmunshi will contest from Raiganj and Adhir Ranjan Choudhary from Bahrampur.
Next Story
Share it