JD(U) expels rebellious Shivanand, 4 other MPs

Cracking the whip, Janata Dal (United) on Thursday expelled outgoing Rajya Sabha MP and senior leader Shivanand Tiwari and four Lok Sabha MPs for anti-party activities.

The expelled Lok Sabha members are Captain Jainarain Nishad (from Muzaffarpur), Purnmasi Ram (Gopalganj), Sushil Kumar Singh (Aurangabad) and Mangani Lal Mandal (Jhanjharpur). Three of them — Nishad, Ram and Mandal — were suspended earlier.

The expulsion letter issued by JD (U) general secretary KC Tyagi says party president Sharad Yadav had expelled them but did not mention the reasons.

Sources said the party had information that while Nishad and Singh are likely to join BJP, Ram and Mandal are in touch with Lalu Prasad’s RJD. Ram was earlier also in touch with BJP, according to sources.

Tiwari, who has off late been critical of the functioning of Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar, was denied a Rajya Sabha renomination this time widening the gap between the two.
Next Story
Share it