Ignoring CM pick, Centre nominates BJP leader as NDMC Vice-Chairman

Overlooking the AAP government's recommendation, the Centre has appointed BJP leader Karan Singh Tanwar as Vice-Chairman of New Delhi Municipal Council (NDMC).

The BJP-led Centre rejected the name of senior AAP leader Gopal Mohan, recommended by CM Arvind Kejriwal. As the CM and NDMC member, Kejriwal has the authority to recommend a name for the <g data-gr-id="22">vice-chairperson's</g> post.

"The Central government hereby nominates Karan Singh Tanwar as member and Vice-Chairperson of the New Delhi Municipal Council," a Home Ministry notification said.

A three-time former BJP MLA from Delhi Cant Assembly constituency, Tanwar was appointed as Vice-Chairman of NDMC on September 7 last year, but had to resign from the post to contest the Assembly polls, in which he was defeated by AAP's Surinder Singh.

According to the NDMC Act, the Council comprises 13 members, of which four are nominated and three are elected.
Next Story
Share it