First day of Modi govt set to turn into SAARC meeting

After being sworn in at Rashtrapati Bhawan in a grand ceremony on Monday evening, Narendra Modi on Tuesday morning will officially take charge in his South Block office. ‘Modi will formally take charge in his South Block office at around 8 am on Tuesday. He will be meeting the officials in the PMO during this time,’ said a PMO official. Former Uttar Pradesh-cadre bureaucrat Nripendra Misra will reportedly be the principal secretary to PM Narendra Modi. Misra is an IAS officer of the 1967 batch and retired from service in 2009.

‘After taking charge, next in line for Modi is a series of meetings with seven heads of government from SAARC countries. This interaction will last from 9.30 am to 1 pm,’ added the official.

On Monday, ministry of external affairs released the schedule of all eight leaders of the SAARC countries who will have one-on-one meetings Modi. The PM will begin his interactions with Afghanistan president Hamid Karzai who will make a courtesy call to Modi at 9.30 am. After this Maldivian president Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom is likely to meet Modi at 10.05 am. Following him will be his Sri Lankan counterpart Mahinda Rajapaksa who will pay a courtesy call to Modi at 10.30 am.

Bhutan prime minister Tshering Tobgay is scheduled to meet Modi at 10.55 am, while his Mauritian counterpart Navin Ramgoolam will be interacting with Modi at 11.20 am. Nepalese prime minister Sushil Koirala is set to meet Modi at 11.45 am.

Modi’s most crucial meeting with Pakistani prime minister Nawaz Sharif will be held at 12.10 in the afternoon. After this Bangladesh parliament speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will meet Modi at 12.45.

After their courtesy calls, the Heads of Government of SAARC countries will meet President Pranab Mukherjee.
Next Story
Share it