Shallu Jindal honoured with Mahatma Award

Co-Chairperson of JSPL Foundation Shallu Jindal has been conferred with 'Mahatma Award for Leadership in Corporate Social Responsibility' for her contribution and commitment to improving quality of lives of the people in rural India. This prestigious award was presented by Padmabhushan Rajashree Birla and other illuminaries in Gurugram, Delhi NCR.

On the occasion, JSPL Foundation also bagged Mahatma Award for 'CSR excellence and Social good' for demonstrating excellence and the highest standards of ethical conduct, integrity, civic and social responsibility. The award for the JSPL Foundation was received by Prashant Hota, Executive Vice President and Group Head CSR and Sustainability

Thanking the jury for the awards, Jindal said, "I am obliged to God for the divine blessings for which we could touch the lives of near 2 million underprivileged and socially vulnerable people. And with our meaningful handholding they are making effort to change their own lives and the lives of their next generation for a better tomorrow. Praying God to give us the strength to continue this journey to build India and empower lives".

"This prestigious award will make us more responsive and more sensitive to address the needs of the underprivileged and socially vulnerable in a comprehensive approach" , she added.

Under the leadership of Shallu Jindal, JSPL Foundation, the CSR Arm of Jindal Steel and Power Ltd (JSPL), has been working for holistic development of the underprivileged and socially vulnerables living in rural India.

The Foundation has positively impacted lives of near 2 million lives through its multidimensional sustainable social development initiatives in health care and nutrition, quality, education, skill building, livelihood promotion, women empowerment, rural infrastructure, agriculture, environment, sports, art and culture across various states in India.

Recently Jindal was also honoured with the Best CSR Practices Award 2019 for Social Entrepreneurship by CMO Asia at Singapore and Aekalavya Award 2019.

Next Story
Share it