Electioneering ends, polling tomorrow

Electioneering for the Rajasthan assembly polls slated for 1 December ended at 5 pm on Friday.

Polling will be held in 199 out of 200 assembly constituencies where 2,087 candidates including those of ruling Congress, Opposition BJP, BSP, CPI and CPM in the fray, state Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) AK Jain told a press conference here.

Polling in the Churu assembly constituency, where nine candidates are in fray, has been postponed to 13 December following the death of BSP candidate Jagdish Meghwal, Jain said.

There are 166 women candidates and one eunuch candidate in the fray. Jaipur’s Adarsh Nagar assembly constituency has the maximum number of 32 contestants and Sujangarh the lowest with three, he said.

Polling will be held from 8 am to 5 pm at 47,223 polling stations in which over 4.08 crore electors would cast their votes amid tight security, the CEO said, adding that of them, 2.14 crore are male and 1.92 crore female, and 10,3171 service voters.

Congress and BJP have fielded 200 each candidates, BSP 195, CPI(M) 38, CPI 23, NCP 16, other parties 666 and Independents 758 (including Churu assembly constituency).

Out of 47,223 polling stations, 10,793 have been marked as critical, he said, adding a total of 1,19,272 police personnel, including 509 companies of Central Protection Force (CPF, 38,175 personnel), would be deployed to ensure free and fair polls and with an aim to increase 10 per cent polling this time. Photo identity card and voters slip were issued to 99.65 per cent of total electors and a total of 12,1885 EVMs have been installed and for which polling parties have started moving their destinations right from Friday, he claimed.

Next Story
Share it