Eight UP districts get their old names back

Doing away with the names given by the Mayawati government to the new districts she had created during her regime, the Akhilesh Yadav government gave new names to these districts besides re-christening the Chatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Medical University as King Georges Medical University (KGMU).

The UP government has decided to rename the Chatrapati Sahuji Maharaj district to Gauriganj whose headquarters is Amethi, the parliamentary constituency of Congress leader Rahul Gandhi.

The decisions were taken at a cabinet meeting here on Monday which was chaired by Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav.

The cabinet also rejected any proposal to cancel the results of the Teachers Eligibility Test(TET) and now the government would go for some alternate process to solve the issue.

This would be the second time that KGMU has been reverted to old name from Chatrapati Sahuji Maharaj University.

The districts that would get new names includes Prabudh Nagar as Shamli, Bhim Nagar as Sambhal, Panchsheel Nagar as Hapur, Rama Bai Nagar as Kanpur Dehat, Kanshi Ram Nagar as Kaasganj, Chatrapti Shahuji Maharaj Nagar as Gauriganj  JP Nagar as Amroha and Mahamaya Nagar as Hathras.

In September last year, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)  chief Mayawati had created three new districts Prabudh Nagar, Bhim Nagar and Panchsheel Nagar in view of the assembly election Prabudh Nagar was carved out of Muzaffarnagar, comprising Shamli and Kairana tehsils; Bhim Nagar was carved out of Sambhal and Chandausi tehsils from Moradabad and Gunaur tehsil of the Badaun district; Panchseel Nagar was carved out of Hapur and Garhmukteshwar tehsils of Ghaziabad.


The Samajwadi Party's Uttar Pradesh government Monday changed the names of eight districts renamed by the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), a move that evoked strong protest from former chief minister Mayawati. She described it as an insult to Dalits and their sentiments.

Mayawati slammed the SP for 'insulting the Dalit icons and leaders' by doing so and said that by this decision both Mulayam Singh Yadav and UP Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav earned a 'black spot' for themselves in history.

'It is indeed saddening that the state government has whimsically changed the names, riding roughshod over sentiments of millions of downtrodden Dalits by changing the names of these districts which were kept after these towering Dalit icons,' Mayawati said.

The SP-led state government should be prepared to bear the consequences of this hasty action, the BSP supremo said.

The decision was taken at a cabinet meeting chaired by Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav.
Next Story
Share it