DU admissions begin today

The process of admission to 54,000 seats in Delhi University’s undergraduate courses will commence from Thursday with the varsity putting in place “strong, dedicated” servers to deal with the huge traffic expected online.

The online registration process will continue from May 28 to June 15 while offline forms will be accepted at the registration centres from June 5 to June 15.

“We have taken enough precautions and have arranged for backup servers to deal with unexpectedly huge traffic. If the students find the website to be slow, they should try after <g data-gr-id="60">sometime</g>,” DU Spokesperson and Joint Dean of Students’ Welfare Malay Neerav said.

Last year, the university’s website had crashed on day one, prompting the aspirants to flock to the offline registration centres.

“When 50,000 or one lakh students try to log on at the same time, it tends to get slow. We assure that the servers will not crash and there will be no inconvenience to students,” Neerav said.

The Centralised Optical Mark Recognition (OMR) forms will be available on Delhi University’s website — — and students will have to make the payment through internet banking.

The fee for General category students is Rs 100 whereas for SC/ST students, the admission form will cost Rs 50. The offline forms will be accepted at the registration centres from June 5 to June 15 between 9 am to 3 pm.

The varsity has set up nine admission centres as against the 18 which were set up last year. The centres are - Atma Ram Sanatan Dharm College, Dyal Singh College, Gargi College, Maharaja Agrasen College, PG DAV College, Rajdhani College, Shyam Singh College, Sri Guru Gobind Singh College of Commerce, and SGTB Khalsa College. The first cut-off list will be announced on June 25, followed by six more till July 24 and the students will have three days to complete the enrolment process following <g data-gr-id="61">publication</g> of each list. 

This year, Delhi University, in an effort to make the admission process smoother and uniform, has prohibited colleges from imposing any extra eligibility criteria on students.

“A student applying in five different colleges will have the same criteria for admission in all of them. Colleges can no more impose any <g data-gr-id="45">extra-eligibility</g> criteria for students.

Rules will be same for all as set by the university,” DU’s media coordinator Malay Neerav has said.
According to the admission guidelines, it will now be mandatory for students seeking admission to B Com and Economics Honours courses to have mathematics as a subject in Class XII. It, however, will not be mandatory for them to include it in their ‘best-four’ percentage.

Also, Business Studies, Home Science, Accountancy and Zoology will be considered as academic subjects, unlike <g data-gr-id="51">earlier,</g> when they were included in the vocational subjects category. Physical Education honours and Music honours will not be considered as vocational but academic courses.
Students who have not studied the subject in which they are looking to pursue an honours course will face a deduction of 2.5 per cent.

The varsity has also decided to treat gap year students on a par with fresh pass-outs and there will be no deduction of percentage under the same clause. The admissions through the sports quota will also be centralised from this year with the varsity announcing that it would conduct a common fitness test for all the colleges.

“We intend to adopt a zero-tolerance policy approach towards any irregularities in the admission process. Everything will be monitored and grievances committees will be set up to ensure the enrolment is conducted in the most transparent manner,” Neerav said.
Next Story
Share it