Cong picks Tharoor for new-look media team

Despite the controversy surrounding the sudden death of his wife Sunanda Pushkar, union minister Shashi Tharoor has managed to remain in the Congress’ trusted circle, as his name was included in the list of 13-member team of spokespersons released by the party’s media office on Tuesday.

In a major revamp, the party’s media team saw the inclusion of veteran leaders -- finance minister P Chidambaram, external affairs minister Salman Khurshid, health minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, commerce minister Anand Sharma as well as AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik  -- who were made senior spokespersons.

Party leader Rahul Gandhi had recently emphasised the need to rejig the media team in order to have a better interface with the media and the AICC functionaries.

Apart from Tharoor, the 13-member team of spokespersons sees the inclusion of party MP Abhishek Manu Singhvi, who had been dropped after an alleged sex scandal had erupted in May 2012. Power minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, Mahila Congress chief Shobha Oza, former UPCC chief Rita Bahuguna Joshi, Haryana minister Randip Surjewala, former Congress Legislative Party(CLP) leader of Gujarat Shaktisinh Gohil, Rajya Sabha MP Satyavrat Chaturvedi and media personality Sanjay Jha are new spokespersons.

Among the panelists are also IB minister Manish Tewari and parliamentary affairs minister Rajiv Shukla.
Next Story
Share it