Millennium Post

C’garh: Filing of nominations for 2nd phase begins

Raipur:  Four nominations were filed on Friday on the first day of filing of nominations for the second phase of Chhattisgarh Assembly polls on 19 November.
Filing of nominations for 72 constituencies in 16 districts which would go to polls in the second phase started on Friday.
Nomination filing for the first phase concluded on Fridaywith 110 nominations filed on the last day, taking the total to 224.
Notification for the second phase was issued on Friday, chief electoral officer Sunil Kujur told reporters.
The last date for filing of nominations for the second phase is 1 November and after scrutiny the next day, the last date for withdrawal is 4 November.
 Former minister and Congress leader Bhupesh Baghel, who is contesting from Patan, was among those who filed papers on Friday for the second phase.
 Several senior leaders including assembly speaker Dharamlal Kaushik, home minister Nanki Ram Kanwar, School education minister Brijmohan Agrawal, ousing and environment minister Rajesh Munat, Water resources minister Ramvichar Netam and Panchayat and rural development minister Hemchand Yadav, state BJP president of BJP Ramsewak Paikra and Leader of the opposition Ravindra Choubey would be in the fray in the second phase.
 A total of 18, 004 polling stations has been set up for second phase - 17,350 primary booths and 654 auxiliary.
The first phase of polling in 18 constituencies, all in Naxal-affected southern Chhattisgarh, will take place on 11 November. PTI
Next Story
Share it