Millennium Post

Centre bans mining in sensitive zones along sanctuaries in Goa

The central government shall also constitute state level ESZ Monitoring Committee (SESZMC) under section 3 of the Environment (Protection) Act 1986 to monitor the compliance of the ESZ notification for the state.

The six sanctuaries where mining has been prohibited are Cotigao wildlife sanctuary, Netravali Wild Life Sanctuary, Bhagwan Mahaveer Wildlife Sanctuary and National Park, Bondla Wildlife Sanctuary, Dr Salim Ali Bird Sanctuary and Madei Wildlife Sanctuary.

The ministry in its notification has prohibited all new and existing mining of minor and major minerals, stone quarrying and crushing units with immediate effect in all the six sanctuaries.

However in cases of Bhagwan Mahaveer and Netravali Wildlife Sanctuaries, the existing mining would be phased out based on state government?s plans.

‘The existing mining leases (major or minor minerals) shall be phased out in a time bound manner (five or ten years) subject to the final orders of Supreme Court of India,’ said the notification on Bhagwan Mahaveer and Netravali Wildlife Sanctuaries.
Next Story
Share it