Celebs sparkle on Trinamool list

Matinee idol Dev, film personalities Moon Moon Sen, Satabdi Roy and former Indian soccer skipper Bhaichung Bhutia figure prominently in the list of Trinamool Congress candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, party chief Mamata Banerjee announced on Wednesday.

Bhutia will contest from Darjeeling and Dev from Ghatal in West Midnapore district in West Bengal. Moon Moon, daughter of legendary Bengali heroine Suchitra Sen and herself a film actress, will be in the fray from Bankura. ‘The CM wanted people from all walks of life. Even in politics there must be competition,’ TMC MP Sisir Adhikari told Millennium Post.

Sugata Bose, grandson of great revolutionary Subhas Chandra Bose and professor at Harvard University, has been named the party nominee from Jadavpur. Bose’s mother Krishna Bose had won the polls from the same constituency thrice consecutively in 1996, 1998 and 1999. Soumitra Roy, lead singer of popular Bengali band Bhoomi, is being fielded from Malda North constituency in Malda district. Justifying her stand to fight the elections alone, Banerjee said: ‘People have wanted us to go it alone. We are happy that we won’t have to see the political faces of the corrupt.We hope to win from all seats.’

There is more. While Dr Sugata Bose, a Harvard University professor of history, has replaced rebel MP Kabir Suman from Jadavpur seat, the MPs from Bongaon and Ranaghat have been replaced owing to health reasons. In Raiganj in North Dinajpur district, ailing Congress leader Priya Ranjan Dasmunshi’s brother Satya Ranjan Dasmunshi has been fielded as the TMC candidate.

The seat is at present held by Deepa Dasmunshi, wife of Priya Ranjan, who is union minister of state in the UPA-2 cabinet and a bitter critic of Mamata. Dinesh Trivedi, who had been removed as rail minister after he went against party line and hiked passenger fares in the 2012 rail budget, has been renominated from Barrackpur constituency. ‘Of the 42 seats in Bengal, we are fielding 26.19 per cent women candidates and seven candidates from Minority community will fight under the Trinamool banner,’ Banerjee said. Of the 42 seats, the CPIM(M), the largest constituent in the Left Front, is contesting in 32 seats, the RSP on four while the CPI and AIFB would contest from three seats each. Veteran CPI-M leaders Basudeb Achariya, Sujan Chakrabarty and Md Selim were again nominated. Also, there are 26 new faces in Left’s list. CPI-M central committee member from UP  Subhasini Ali has been nominated from Barrackpur constituency in West Bengal.
Next Story
Share it