BJP in damage control mode after sr leader resigns

He alleged that he is ignored and side-lined by the new crop of party leadership. He resigned on the ground that his name was not included in the name of panel of three candidates’ choices for Nainital-Udham Singh Nagar Lok Sabha seat.

‘In this crucial time, when BJP leaders are talking of winning all five seats of this hill state, this action of former state party chief can demoralize the spirit and enthusiasm of party workers,’ according to one party spokesperson of state BJP unit.

Former Jansangh leader and four-time MP from Almora Lok Sabha seat (1996, 1998, 1999 and 2004), his popularity among voters can be gauzed from the fact that he defeated Congress stalwart Harish Rawat thrice in a row.  On fourth time, he defeated Renuka Rawat, spouse of CM Harish Rawat. After remaining isolation for fourteen years, Harish Rawat came in limelight again, when he won Haridwat seat in 2009 by a thumbing majority.

Following the resignation of former union minister Bachi Singh Rawat from all posts of the BJP party, the many senior BJP leaders has initiated the damage control process.

Former CM of Uttarakhand Bhagat Singh Koshiyari told, ‘Bacchi Singh Rawat is the senior-most and most-respected leader of the party. Due to lack of communication, he may have got the wrong message. But all the indifferences and misunderstanding can be resolved by direct communication. It is the party’s parliamentary board who will decide the name of BJP candidates who will contest elections from five seats. The past performance and winning capability of all the aspiring candidates will be a decisive factor for picking up their name from the panel of three candidates.’

State party president Tirath Singh Rawat said, ‘I haven’t received any resignation letter from Bachi Singh Rawatji in written. We all have full respect to him as a senior most leader of the party and his contributions to the party can’t be ignored. He will strictly adhered to the party ideology, whatever the circumstances may be. On Thursday, the party’s parliamentary board will decide the name of candidates from five seats in Uttarakhand.’
Next Story
Share it