B Balakrishnan, Ashish Khetan in AAP’s fourth list

Journalist Ashish Khaitan will contest from New Delhi constituency. He is founder of news portal that had hit the headlines by claiming that Gujarat CM Narendra Modi had asked the state police to keep illegal surveillance on a woman. Three of the six AAP candidates in Delhi are journalists as former editor of a news channel Ashutosh contesting from Chandni Chowk and Jarnail Singh from West Delhi.

In South Delhi, a constituency that has defence pockets, the party has fielded former defence personnel Col Devendra Sehrawat. He fights for farmers’ causes and compensation issues and raised the voices through newspaper articles.

The party announced two candidates from Delhi, four from Haryana, three from Punjab, 13 from Karnataka and 39 from Uttar Pradesh, said a party leader said. Some of the prominent names in the AAP’s fourth list are- V Balakrishnan, who stepped down as the Chief Financial Officer (CFO) of Infosys on 31 December, 2013 to join AAP, satirist Bhagwant Mann from Sangrur in Punjab.

Mahmood Husain Rehmani will contest from Uttar Pradesh’s Kanpur, Akhand Pratap Singh from Kushi Nagar, Archana Gupta from Jhansi, Himanshu Singh from Meerut and Shimla Sree from Phulpur, the list said. The party fielded Paramjeet from Karnal, Purshottam Dagar from Faridabad and S.P. Singh from Ambala in Haryana. With Monday’s announcement, the AAP has declared 131 candidates so far for the Lok Sabha elections.

Ealier in second list AAP declared its candidate Rajmohan Gandhi is a prominent face who will contest Lok Sabha election from East Delhi constituency against Congress’ Sandeep Dikhsit.

‘Our main motto is to send honest people to Parliament. We do not want to send criminals, people with dynastic background. We will soon release the list of candidates for other seats,’ senior party leader Manish Sisodia told the media.
Next Story
Share it