Akhilesh adopts dad’s name changing habit

The never-ending exercise of changing the names of districts of Uttar Pradesh has got another twist. The Samajwadi Party has now decided to rename seven districts.

Sources say that the new districts that were created during the tenure of Mayawati will now be given their original names. Official sources say that change of name of districts will take place once the model code of conduct is removed from the state, which is in place due to the municipal body elections. The counting of these elections will take place on Saturday.

In September last year, the Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) chief Mayawati had created three new districts Prabudh Nagar, Bhim Nagar and Panchsheel Nagar in view of the assembly election.

Prabudh Nagar was carved out of Muzaffarnagar, comprising Shamli and Kairana tehsils; Bhim Nagar was carved out of Sambhal and Chandausi tehsils from Moradabad and Gunaur tehsil of the Badaun district; Panchseel Nagar was carved out of Hapur and Garhmukteshwar tehsils of Ghaziabad.

In 2010, Chhatrapati Shahuji Maharaj Nagar was carved out of Amethi, Gauriganj and Musafirkhana of Sultanpur district and two tehsils Salon and Tiloi of Rae Bareli. In 2010, Kanpur Dehat was renamed as Ramabai Nagar. In 2008 Kanshiram Nagar was created by separating Kasganj, Patiali and Sahawar tehsils from Etah district. In 2007 Hathras was renamed as Mahmayanagar for the fifth time.

Interestingly, the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Samajwadi Party have a history of renaming districts when they return to power. For example, Hathras has been renamed to Mahamayanagar by Mayawati many times and the Samajwadi Party takes it back to Hathras.
Next Story
Share it