60th Filmfare Awards Nominees list revealed

The 60th Britannia Filmfare Awards 2014 will be held on January 31, 2015 in Mumbai. Recognising the best talent in the industry, the 60th Britannia Filmfare Awards is all set to roll out the red carpet. Let’s take a look at the nominations. 

Alia Bhatt and Arjun Kapoor starer romantic comedy 2 States is leading the 60th Filmfare Awards with seven nominations, followed by Kangana Ranaut’s comedy drama Queen which has been named in five different categories.

The sleeper hits of 2014 have left behind big-budget blockbusters PK, Happy New Year and Kick.
2 States has been nominated in various categories, including Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male), Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female), Best Music and Best Playback Singer (Male).

On the other hand, Kangana’s Queen stands a chance to win in categories including Best Film, Best Director, Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female), Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Female) and Best Music.

Apart from Queen and 2 States, the Best Film category includes Mary Kom, Haider and PK.

Abhishek Varman (2 States), Anurag Kashyap (Ugly), Rajkumar Hirani (PK), Vikas Bahl (Queen) and Vishal Bhardwaj (Haider) are in the race for the Best Director title.

Despite striking gold at the box office with Kick and Happy New Year, Bollywood’s leading Khans - Salman and Shah Rukh - have been neglected in the Best Actor in a Leading Role category.

However, Aamir Khan is nominated for his satirical comedy-drama PK alongside Akshay Kumar (Holiday), Hrithik Roshan (Bang Bang!), Randeep Hooda (Rang Rasiya) and Shahid Kapoor (Haider).

Actresses Alia Bhatt (Highway), Kangana Ranaut (Queen), Madhuri Dixit (Dedh Ishqiya), Priyanka Chopra (Mary Kom), Rani Mukerji (Mardaani) and Sonam Kapoor (Khoobsurat) are competing for the Best Actress trophy.

In Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male) category, Abhishek Bachchan (Happy New Year), Kay Kay Menon (Haider), Riteish Deshmukh (Ek Villain), Ronit Roy (2 States) and Tahir Raj Bhasin (Mardaani) have been nominated.

The competition for the Supporting Actress accolades will be between Amrita Singh (2 States), Dimple Kapadia (Finding Fanny), Juhi Chawla (Gulaab Gang), Lisa Haydon (Queen) and Tabu (Haider).

Although music maestro A.R. Rahman has not been included for Best Music category, there is a tough fight between Amit Trivedi (Queen), Anupam Amod, Arko Pravo Mukherjee, Yo Yo Honey Singh, Mithoon and Pritam (Yaariyan), Himesh Reshammiya, Meet Bros Anjjan and Yo Yo Honey Singh (Kick), Mithoon, Ankit Tiwari and SOCH (Ek Villain) and Shankar-Eshaan-Loy (2 States).

For Best Lyrics, this year Amitabh Bhattacharya for Zehnaseeb (Hasee Toh Phasee), Gulzar for Bismil (Haider), Irshad Kamil for Patakha guddi (Highway), Kausar Munir for Suno na s
angemarmar (Youngistaan) and Rashmi Singh for Muskurane ki wajah (CityLights) will be competing with each other.

Singer Ankit Tiwari for Galliyan (Ek Villain), Arijit Singh for Mast magan (2 States) and Suno na sangemarmar (Youngistaan), Benny Dayal for Locha-E-Ulfat (2 States) and Shekhar Ravjiani for Zehnaseeb (Hasee Toh Phasee) are in the race for Best Playback Singer (Male) category.

For the same award in female category, Jyoti Nooran and Sultana Nooran for Patakha guddi (Highway), Kanika Kapoor for Baby doll (Ragini MMS 2), Rekha Bhardwaj for Humari atariya pe (Dedh Ishqiya), Shreya Ghoshal for Manwa lage (Happy New Year) and Sona Mahapatra for
Naina (Khoobsurat) have been nominated.

The complete nomination list is available on, while the awards ceremony will take place Jan 31 in Mumbai.
Next Story
Share it