2 States, Haider leading IIFA 2015 nominations

Romantic comedy 2 States and Vishal Bhardwaj’s Shakespearean adaptation Haider are leading at with nine and eight nominations at IIFA awards 2015 while superstars Aamir and Shah Rukh Khan are pitted against each other in the best actor category.

Rajkumar Hirani’s inspiring PK earned six nominations and Kangana Ranaut’s Queen received 5 nominations for the 16th edition of International Indian Film Academy (IIFA), which will take place in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia from June 5-7.

The best picture category is dominated by female-centric films like Queen, Highway and Priyanka Chopra-fronted biopic Mary Kom. 2 States and Haider and PK will also compete in the category.

Aamir and SRK are nominated in the best actor category for their roles in PK and Happy New Year respectively. They will face competition from Hrithik Roshan (Bang Bang), Shahid Kapoor (Haider), Arjun Kapoor (2 States) and Randeep Hooda (Highway).

Queen and Mary Kom stars Kangana and Priyanka will compete in the best actress category alongside Rani Mukerji (Mardaani), Deepika Padukone (Happy New Year), Alia Bhatt (2 States) and
Anushka Sharma (PK).

The best director category has Vikas Bahl (Queen), Vishal Bhardwaj (Haider), Rajkumar Hirani (PK), Abhishek Varman (2 States) and Imtiaz Ali (Highway).

The best supporting actor list features Ronit Roy (2 States), Riteish Deshmukh (Ek Villain), Kay Kay Menon (Haider), Randeep Hooda (Kick), Inaamul Haq (Filmistaan) and veteran actor Naseeruddin Shah for Finding Fanny.

In the best supporting actress category Tabu is the strongest contender for her powerful role in Haider as Shahid’s mother. Other nominees include Amrita Singh in 2 States, Lisa Haydon in Queen, Juhi Chawla in Gulaab Gang and Huma Qureshi in Dedh ishqiya.

Govinda (Happy Ending), Sharib Hashmi (Filmistaan), Sanjay Dutt (PK) and Varun Dhawan (Main Tera Hero) are nominated in the best comic actor category.

Riteish and Menon earned their second nomination in the best negative actor category along with Nawazuddin Siddiqui (Kick).

Next Story
Share it