Millennium Post

West Zone regain J K Bose cricket

 West Zone on Tuesday  regained the JK Bose Trophy after a gap of four years by remaining unbeaten in the Twenty20 cricket round-robin held as part of the 38th national convention of the Sports Journalists’ Federation of India here.

Following easy victories over South and North Zones over the first two days, West defeated East by 58 runs in what was a virtual final at the Motera Stadium to clinch the title. 

In the other match of the day, South triumphed over North by eight wickets. Meanwhile in the table tennis contest, Sports Journalists <g data-gr-id="19">Asssociaion</g> of Mumbai’s A team and Sports Writers Association of Bangalore A team entered the final of the A C Bali Trophy. SJAM A defeated Sports Writers Association (SWAB) B by a convincing 2-0 margin, while SWAB A got the better of Assam 2-1 in the <g data-gr-id="20">semi finals</g>.

In the singles competition, R Kaushik of SWAB A got past Rayan Rosario of Tamil Nadu Sports Journalists Association 3-1 and will meet Ashwin Ferro of SJAM A in the final. Ashwin eased past Tauhid Talukdar of East Zone 11-7 11-9 11-8 in straight games. The final will see <g data-gr-id="22">pair</g> of <g data-gr-id="21">Karhadkar</g> and Ashwin taking on the pair of Kaushik and Roshan Thyagarajan.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it