Millennium Post

Sushma, union ministers among heavyweights in poll ring

Sushma, who hails from Haryana, is contesting the polls from Vidisha constituency from where she had won for the first time in the 2009 polls. She had an easy run last time as the nomination papers of Congress nominee Rajkumar Patel had been rejected on technical grounds.

Her opponent from Congress this time is party General Secretary Digvijay Singh’s younger brother Laxman Singh who is contesting from the seat for the first time.Another biggie in the race is Union Minister Kamal Nath who is contesting once again from Chhindwara from where he had won for the first time in 1980. Kamal Nath has won all Lok Sabha elections from Chhindwara district since 1989 and this makes him the longest-serving MP from the state.

The only time he lost was in 1997 bye-election after he asked his wife Alka Nath to resign from the seat which she had won in 1996.

Another Union Minister in the poll ring from Madhya Pradesh is Jyotiraditya Scindia who will once again contest from Guna parliamentary constituency.

He was elected from Guna for the first time in 2002 in a bye-election following the death of his father Madhavrao Scindia in an air crash.

This will be the fourth time that Scindia is in the race from Guna. His BJP opponent this time is Jaibhan Singh Pawaiyya, who gave a tough fight to his father in Gwalior during the 1996 polls.
Another prominent leader in the poll race is senior Congress leader Arjun Singh’s second son Ajay Singh who is contesting the LS poll for the first time from Satna constituency. He is pitted here against two-time BJP MP Ganesh Singh and Charmendra Tiwari of the BSP.

Former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s nephew Anup Mishra, who lost the assembly elections from the Bhitarwar constituency in Gwalior district last November, is the BJP nominee from the Morena district. State BJP President Narendra Singh Tomar, who had won from Morena in 2009, has changed his constituency and he is now contesting from the Gwalior constituency. Former Attorney-General of Madhya Pradesh Vivek Tankha, who also served as additional solicitor general, is the Congress nominee from the Jabalpur constituency where he is pitted against Rakesh Singh of the BJP.

Also ex-Madhya Pradesh assembly speaker Sriniwas Tiwari’s son Sunderlal Tiwari, who won the assembly elections from Gurh seat (Rewa district), is the Congress nominee from Rewa constituency.
Next Story
Share it