Millennium Post

Bagan's Jeje Lalpekhlua wins AIFF player of year award

Bagans Jeje Lalpekhlua wins AIFF player of year award
Mumbai: India and Mohun Bagan striker Jeje Lalpekhlua on Thursday received the All India Football Federation's inaugural player of the year 2016 award.

Lalpekhlua received the award in the presence of the national team, the head coach Stephen Constantine and AIFF president Praful Patel, general secretary Kushal Das and senior vice president Subrata Dutta.

Sasmita Malik was adjudged the 2016 AIFF Women's player of the year.

Sunil Chettri, India's most prolific goal scorer ever with 53 goals from 93 matches, received a Special Award for surpassing the milestone over the last year.

"This is a defining year for Indian football as we prepare to host the FIFA U-17 World Cup in less than 100 days.

I am confident that with the guidance and support of the Union Government through the Ministry of Sports, we believe we will be able to host the best FIFA U-17 World Cup ever," said Patel.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it