Millennium Post

PM sets up committee to oversee reconstruction in Uttarakhand

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Wednesday constituted a Cabinet committee to oversee reconstruction and rehabilitation in flood-ravaged Uttarakhand.

Defence minister A K Antony, agriculture minister Sharad Pawar, finance minister P Chidambaram, health minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, home minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, road transport minister Oscar Fernandes, law minister Kapil Sibal, housing minister Girija Vyas, rural development minister Jairam Ramesh and water resources minister Harish Rawat are the members of the committee chaired by Singh. Planning Commission deputy chairman Montek Singh Ahluwalia, Uttarakhand chief minister Vijay Bahuguna and National Disaster Management Authority vice chairman M Shashidhar Reddy are the permanent invitees.

The committee will provide broad guidance to reconstruction and rehabilitation efforts in Uttarakhand, and take such decisions, as may be required, said a notification issued by the Cabinet Secretariat.

Singh has announced Rs 1,000 crore for disaster relief measures in flood-devastated parts of Uttarakhand.The Prime Minister, had released Rs 145 crore as immediate relief.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it