Millennium Post

No clarity still over support regarding IOA chief’s ouster

No clarity still over support regarding IOA chief’s ouster
All India Football Federation has joined the bandwagon of those national and state sports bodies which have called for the ouster of Indian Olympic Association chief N Ramachandran even as there’s no clarity regarding the strength of the support of the move.

The AIFF is the latest to join the move spearheaded by Hockey India President Narinder Batra who has claimed that more than 50 <g data-gr-id="41">per cent</g> of the National Sports Federations and state Olympic units have supported to vote in the No Confidence Motion against Ramachandran.

“We request you to convene the Special General Meeting (SGM) of the IOA at the earliest to discuss on the vote of no confidence against Mr Narayana Ramachandran, President IOA,” the letter, addressed to IOA President and Secretary General, and signed by AIFF President Praful Patel and General Secretary Kushal Das, said.

Batra has claimed support of 19 NSFs (out of 36) and 18 state Olympic units (out of 35). A few of the NSFs and the state Olympic units which he claimed to have supported the move have not done so formally. At least one NSF, Batra claimed to have supported Ramachandran’s ouster, has not been recognised by the IOA.

He has also claimed to have got the support of Athletics Federation of India which, however, has made it clear that it only wanted the convening of <g data-gr-id="32">a SGM</g> but not the tabling of a No Confidence Motion against Ramachandran.

It is also learnt that an informal meeting of some IOA members was held here late last month in which former president Abhay Singh Chautala and ex-secretary general Lalit Bhanot reportedly told them not to take part in the move to oust Ramachandran.

An official who was present in that informal meeting said that the IOA members did not discuss anything related to Ramachandran. 

He added that the situation was fluid and nothing can be said as of now. According to IOA constitution, a No Confidence Motion against the president, secretary general, treasurer and other council members can be passed if <g data-gr-id="42">two-third</g> majority of members are present and voting.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it