Millennium Post

Modi to spread Vivekanand's message

After the success of Gujarat Gaurav Yatra ahead of the 2002 state assembly election, Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi has once again decided to embark upon a new yatra, the Vivekanand Yuva Vikas Yatra, to spread the message of Vivekanand's philosophy and development undertaken by the BJP government in the last decade. The yatra will be flagged off by former BJP national president Rajnath Singh and leader of BJP in Rajya Sabha Arun Jaitley on 11 September from Bahucharaji, a religious place in north Gujarat.

Along with Modi's main yatra, which will pass through all 26 districts of the state, the BJP district units will take out as many as 150 small yatras. The Vivekanand Yatra has assumed great political importance as Modi had taken out Gaurav Yatra—pride of Gujaratš—in the aftermath of the post-Godhra riots at the time of state assembly election in 2002.

State BJP general secretary Vijay Rupani on Friday said the yatra will start from Bahucharaji, have a halt at Sanand on September 12, and on the next day reach Unnai, a religious place of tribals in south Gujarat and from there enter Surat. The details of the yatra's route after Surat is being worked out and would be declared next week. He said the party's senior leaders including MPs, MLAs and elected members of local self government bodies would join the yatra.

Meanwhile, several leaders from the party's central leadership have arrived in Gujarat to support Narendra Modi in the forthcoming assembly election. The Vivekanand Yuva Vikas Yatra is in fact the commencement of the party's campaign for the assembly election the dates of which are likely to be announced by the election commission of India any time.

Both the BJP and the opposition Congress party have geared up to fight the battle of ballots. The mood in the Congress camp this time is upbeat and the GPCC leaders are confident that they would defeat the BJP as people of Gujarat are fed up of what they called 'the misrule of the Modi regime' in he last 10 years. Senior GPCC leader and former union minister Shankersinh Vaghela has been made in-charge of the election and there seems to be unity among senior leaders to contest the election.
Next Story
Share it