Millennium Post

McLaren name Alonso, Button as 2015 drivers

McLaren name Alonso, Button as 2015 drivers
Spain’s double world champion Fernando Alonso and Britain’s Jenson Button will drive for Honda-
powered McLaren next season, the Formula One team said on Thursday.

Alonso’s return to Woking, seven years after he left following an acrimonious season as 2007 team mate to then-rookie Lewis Hamilton, had been an open secret for months in the paddock. His partner next year had been far less clear-cut, with the former champions having to decide between one of their 2014 pairing of Button and Dane Kevin Magnussen, who will stay with the team as a reserve and test driver.

The decision to go with Button, who made his race debut in 2000 and was the most experienced driver on the starting grid this year, will see the Briton start his 16th season at the age of 35. The former Honda driver remains McLaren’s most recent race winner, having triumphed in Brazil in 2012.
Next Story
Share it