Maha civic polls: Many face defeat in own bastions

The first phase of polls to 164 Municipal Councils and Nagar Panchayats in Maharashtra saw several leaders from different political parties tasting defeat in their own backyard. The results of the polls were declared on Sunday.

The BJP had to face defeat in Women and Child Welfare Minister Pankaja Munde’s Parli municipality where her estranged cousin Dhananjay Munde led the NCP to a clear victory. State Water Supply Minister Babanrao Lonikar’s wife Manda was defeated in Partur municipal council president poll. Congress could retain only Shirdi municipality in Ahmednagar, the stronghold of Leader of Opposition in state Assembly Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil.

In Rahata municipality, BJP won the president’s post while the Congress got majority.

BJP won the Karad municipal council presidentship in the constituency of former Maharashtra chief minister Prithviraj Chavan, while Congress won the Bhokardan municipal council presidentship in BJP state chief Raosaheb Danve’s constituency.

In Minister of State for Home Deepak Kesarkar’s constituency Sawantwadi, Shiv Sena won the municipal president’s post but did not get majority, while in Vengurla, the council president’s post went to BJP. In NCP leader Chhagan Bhujbal’s constituency Yeola, BJP bagged the municipal council president’s post while in his son Pankaj’s constituency Nandgaon, the Sena won the Nandgaon and Manmad municipalities.

In Islampur, NCP leader Jayant Patil’s constituency, the BJP-led local outfit won the municipality president’s post.


Our Contributor help bring you the latest article around you


View All

Latest News

View All
Share it