Millennium Post

Tax collection satisfactory in Bengal post GST, state not in list of low-revenue earners

Kolkata: Tax collection in West Bengal after the introduction of Goods and Services Tax (GST) has been reasonably good, as the state's name does not figure among the first five states that have been compensated by the Centre for fall in collection of tax.
This was stated by Subir Ghosh, deputy commissioner of Directorate of Commercial Taxes, Bengal, on the sidelines of a session on GST Researcher Outreach Programme, organised by Merchant Chamber of Commerce and Industry on Wednesday.
"Recently, we have come across a list of five states, that have been compensated by the Centre as they have been unable to mop up their desired tax collection in the GST regime. Bengal does not figure in that list, while Karnataka has been allocated Rs 3,400 crore as compensation for their shortfall in tax collection, the highest among the five states. This is an indication that Bengal's tax collection post GST has been quite good," Ghosh said, responding to a poser on tax collection in the state.
Sanjib Kothari, member, managing committee of MCCI, said that as per the budget estimates for 2018-19 in Bengal, SGST will be the largest component of the state's tax revenue, sharing 24 percent of it. "It is expected to generate Rs 13,094 crore," Kothari maintained.
Adesh Kumar, additional commissioner, Directorate of Commercial Taxes, government of West Bengal and Ghosh responded to a number of queries from the business community and shared the latest developments and amendments that have been brought out in connection with GST.
"The E-Way Bill will be introduced in Bengal from June 1," Ghosh said.
Officials at the Bengal Tax department have earlier raised issues with the GST Council, relating to difficulties in implementation of E-Way Bills.
It may be mentioned that the Council had made E-Way Bill mandatory from February 1, for all inter-state movement of goods. For intra-state movement of goods, it would be from a date to be announced separately by each state, but not later than June 1, the GST Council had announced.

Next Story
Share it