Millennium Post

Jaya files nomination for by-poll

Jaya files nomination for by-poll
 Making her way past hundreds of joyous supporters, AIAMDK supremo and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa on Friday filed her nomination papers for June 27 by-poll to the Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly constituency in Chennai.

In what is expected to be <g data-gr-id="25">cakewalk</g> for her in the wake of major opposition parties deciding to boycott the by-poll, Jayalalithaa (67) aims to make her debut from a constituency in this metropolis.
Jayalalithaa, who was accompanied by close aide Sasikala, filed her nomination at the Corporation Zonal office here.

The entire route beginning from her residence was decorated with festoons as AIADMK members braving the scorching sun waved the party flag and greeted her amid playing of traditional south Indian music instruments.

Having been acquitted in a wealth case that threatened to derail her political career, Jayalalithaa returned as Chief Minister of the state for the fifth time last month and has to be elected as MLA within six months.

P Vetrivel of AIADMK had quit as MLA of RK Nagar on May 17, paving the way for Jayalalithaa to contest from a city constituency and return to the 234-member state Assembly in which her party enjoys a strong majority of 150.

While DMK, MDMK, VCK and PMK have announced boycotting the <g data-gr-id="22">boypoll</g>, CPI with the support of CPI(M) has decided to contest while NDA constituents BJP and DMDK are yet to make up their mind.
This is the first time Jayalalithaa is contesting for the Assembly from any constituency here.

In 1989, she had represented Bodinayakanur (Theni) and later <g data-gr-id="21">Bargur</g> (Krishnagiri) and Andipatti (Theni), all rural constituencies. 


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it