Home > Sports > India-New Zealand third ODI at Feroz Shah Kotla postponed

India-New Zealand third ODI at Feroz Shah Kotla postponed

 Agencies |  2016-09-09 22:53:55.0  |  New Delhi

India-New Zealand third ODI at  Feroz Shah Kotla postponed

Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) vice president C.K. Khanna confirmed the development.
DDCA requested the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to push the match behind by a 
day and the national governing body accepted the request.

“I requested BCCI to postpone the match due to Karva Chauth which was agreed upon. Now instead of October 19 the match will take place on October 20,” C.K. Khanna said on Thursday.

DDCA has written a letter to BCCI secretary Ajay Shirke informing him about the difficulties in organising the match on the day of a festival popular in North India.

DDCA expected ticket sales to be significantly low if the match went ahead as per the earlier schedule.

Providing security would also have been an issue as the police would have been busy with managing the festive pressure during the one-day traditional festival observed by women. New Zealand are scheduled to play three Tests and five ODIs.

The first Test begins on September 22 in Kanpur. The first ODI is on October 16 in Dharamsala.
Ferozeshah Kotla will also host a warm-up fixture for New Zealand when the visitors take on Board President’s XI from September 16-18. 

Rohit in Mumbai squad for visiting Kiwis
Rohit Sharma has been included in Ranji Trophy champions Mumbai’s 15-member squad for the warm-up game against the visiting New Zealand side at New Delhi from September 16-18.

The team will be led by wicket-keeper Aditya Tare, according to MCA’s joint secretary and senior selection panel convener, Unmesh Khanvilkar.

New Zealand, to be captained by Kane Williamson, are set to arrive in the country later this month to play three Tests and five ODIs between September 22 and October 29. 


Aditya Tare (C), Rohit Sharma, Surya Kumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Kaustubh Pawar Jay Bista, Sufiyan Shaikh, Arman Jaffer, Parikshit Valsangkar, Vishal Dabholkar, Vijay Gohil, Balwinder Singh Sandhu (Jr), Tushar Deshpande, Roystan Dias, Harshal Soni.



Millennium Post Contributors help bring you the latest news around you.

Share it