High Court names 3-member panel to collect video footage

The Calcutta High Court on Tuesday named the three members of a committee who will collect the video footage in which Trinamool Congress leaders were filmed from Narada News.

The Division Bench of the High Court led by Chief Justice Manjulla Chellur directed that Anil Kumar, IG of West Bengal Police Recruitment Cell, Nagendra Prasad, SP of CBI’s Anti Corruption Branch and Jayanta Kumar Kole, Registrar (original side) of the Calcutta High Courts would collect the footage. 

As per the direction of the court, the three-member committee will take the 72-hours long raw footage and devices from the Narada News. 

The members of the committee will maintain secrecy on collection and submission of the footages and devices. 

The team member will go to Delhi to collect the footages. The date, time and place of collection will be kept secret.

It may be mentioned that on Monday the division bench had given direction on the formation of a three-member committee to collect the raw footage of the sting operation. 

Public Interest Litigations were filed with the High Court in this connection after the sting operation was telecasted. 

Narada News didn’t submit the video footage and devices despite being directed by the court claiming lack of security in the state. 

Besides directing to handover the video footage, the division bench had asked Narada News to file an affidavit stating that the sting operation was not a doctored one.

Narada News had submitted an affidavit before the court containing some details. 

The court had again directed to file another affidavit with information including the antecedents of the company and other information related to the sting operation. The next date of hearing in this connection is on April 5.
M Post Bureau

M Post Bureau

Our Contributor help bring you the latest article around you


View All

Latest News

View All
Share it