Four IPS officers sent to compulsory waiting reinstated in crucial positions

In another reshuffle in the IPS cadre in West Bengal, four IPS officers, who were sent to compulsory waiting 15 days ago, have been reinstated in crucial positions on Thursday.

On May 25, three the then deputy Commissioners of the Kolkata Police – Dhrubajyoti De, Santosh Pandey and Sumanjit Ray – were sent to compulsory waiting along with the then superintendent of the police of South Dinajpur district Rashid Munir Khan.

On Thursday, De has been made the deputy Commissioner of Zone-II of Barrackpore Commissionerate, Pandey has become the new deputy Commissioner of Zone-I in Bidhannagar Commissionerate.

Ray has become the deputy Commissioner (North) of Howrah Commissionerate and Khan has been made the Commandant of the second battalion of Eastern Frontier Riffles.

Rajeev Mishra, the IPS of 1996 batch, has become the Inspector General (IG) of Western Zone. He was the Additional Commissioner of Police-III of the Kolkata Police. Another senior officer of the Kolkata Police Sujay Kumar Chanda, who was Deputy Commissioner of Wireless Branch, has become the Joint Commissioner (Establishment) of the force.

Kalyan Mukhopadhyay has become the new deputy Commissioner (Traffic) of the Kolkata Traffic Police’s South Section replacing Niladri Chakraborty, who has become the CO of the third battalion of SAP.

Debabrata Das will be the Deputy Commissioner (headquarters) of Howrah replacing Ranendra Nath Banerjee, who has been sent to the post of Deputy Commissioner of the Zone-II of Howrah Police Commissionerate. Sources said that there are more changes to come in the IPS cadre of the state.

It may be mentioned that on two IPS officers joint commissioner of police (crime) Debashis Boral and the second top officer of his department Deputy Commissioner –II (Detective Department) Nagendra Nath Tripathi were sent to compulsory waiting and 16 other IPS officers along with eight IAS officers were reshuffled. Seventeen officers of IPS cadres were reshuffled on June 6 when commissioners of four commissionerates were changed.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it