Millennium Post

EC bars 2012 UP poll candidates for 3 years

The Election Commission on Friday barred 25 candidates, who had contested the 2012 Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls, for the next three years for failing to submit the expenditure incurred by them during the elections.

As per the orders by Anuj Jaipuriar, Secretary, Election Commission, 25 candidates, including six from Muzaffarnagar, are barred from contesting the Lok Sabha and Assembly polls for three years, Assistant Election Officer Ranjit Saroj said.

The order came into effect after the said candidates failed to submit the expenditure incurred by them during the 2012 Assembly polls, he said. 

Naresh from Budhana constituency, Rakesh Sodai, Sanjiv and Deepak Kumar from Purkazi constituency, as well as Salim and Sethpal Singh from Miranpur constituency in Muzaffarnagar district have been barred from contesting the elections, the official added.

According to the Election Commission, Uttar Pradesh is most likely to go to elections between February and March 2017, shortly after presentation of Union Budget on February 1, 2017.


Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it