Millennium Post

LG gives nod to redraw zonal boundaries in North MCD

NEW DELHI: Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal on Wednesday approved redrawing of zonal boundaries under the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (North MCD), with the city getting a new Keshavpuram Zone by taking areas from Rohini and Civil Lines zones.
As per the LG's decision, City and Sadar-Paharganj zones of the civic body have been merged into a single entity, namely the City Zone. As per the new Municipal zonal boundaries, there would be 13 wards in the newly-formed City zone, 13 in Karol Bagh zone, 16 in Narela, 26 wards in Rohini, 18 in Civil Lines and 18 wards in newly-created Keshavpuram zone.
"Approved creation of new Keshavpuram Zone and merging of City & Sadar-Paharganj zones in North MCD. Restructuring should enhance efficiency," the LG tweeted.
Later, Delhi Urban Development Minister Satyendar Jain said a notification with regard to the redrawing of the zonal boundaries will be issued in "next few days". "We have cleared the file of zonal boundaries, which was sent to the LG for his approval two days back," Jain said.
The move comes two days after North MCD Mayor Preety Agarwal threatened that the BJP councillors will gherao the residence of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal on August 16, if the city government does not notify the new zonal boundaries.
North MCD has a total of 104 wards spread over six zones. Before the redrawing, the zones were namely Rohini, Civil Lines, City, Sadar Paharganj, Narela and Karol Bagh.
So, after redrawing the total number of zones would remain the same.
Agarwal said with the official notification, the standing committee and statutory committees can be constituted so that vital decisions with regard to development work may be taken.
Next Story
Share it