BJP calls for ‘TMC-free’ state in Assembly polls

Much like Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s successful campaign for a “Congress-free” nation in the Lok Sabha elections 2014, the West Bengal BJP is giving a call for a “Trinamool-free” state in the 2016 Assembly elections.

With no big stakes in West Bengal, the BJP is likely to go too hard at Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee during the poll campaign.

Since there is little possibility of the BJP making much gains in the Trinamool Congress-ruled Bengal, the party would rather keep few regional parties like Atul Roy group of Kamtapur People’s Party (KPP) along with Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) in good humour for their support in parliament where both have significant presence.

In Bengal, the Left Front occupies most of the Opposition political space, with the Congress enjoying pockets of influence. In the coming Assembly polls, Left and Congress have worked out a loose seat-sharing deal, turning the fight into almost a bipolar contest. 

In this scenario, the BJP is likely to get squeezed out even though the party hopes to contest most of the seats.

In the last Lok sabha elections, the state BJP had joined hands with Adivasi Vikash Parishad (AVP) at Alipurduar.

“No doubt, Hills have witnessed the divide policy of the Left during the past three decades has now boomeranged and swept out not only the Left parties but also the Congress and Trinamool Congress from the Hills as well as from the Dooars tea gardens in Alipurduar parliamentary constituency,” said BJP state president Dilip Ghosh, adding that in the upcoming Assembly elections, the BJP will forge an alliance with a few regional forces to oust the TMC from Bengal.

He accused the three parties — Congress, CPI(M) and TMC — of colluding to stop the rise of BJP in state.

BJP state president also added that all the regional forces affirmed to contest the upcoming elections under the banner of the BJP and also that almost 700 people from INTTUC have joined the party in last two weeks.

“All are aware that the ruling party completely ignores the development of the farmers and the labour class and now a major section of people is eager to join the BJP as they are aware that it is only the BJP who will look after their welfare,” added Dilip Ghosh.

He also announced that the BJP in West Bengal have formed an election committee which include Dilip Ghosh, Rahul Sinha, S.S.Aluwaliya, Babul Supriyo, Samik Bhattacharya and Rupa Ganguly.



Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it