Millennium Post

Another jolt for BJP; LJP to contest 50 seats in J'khand

Another jolt for BJP; LJP to contest 50 seats in Jkhand

New Delhi: After suffering a major political jolt in Maharashtra, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday received another setback in Jharkhand as its National Democratic Alliance (NDA) ally Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) has decided to contest the Jharkhand assembly polls alone.

Earlier on Monday, the BJP's Jharkhand ally AJSU also announced to go alone in the assembly polls and announced number of candidates against senior BJP leaders in the state. The JD(U), a key partner in Bihar, is not a partner of BJP in Jharkhand.

Announcing the decision, LJP president Chirag Paswan, who recently took over the reins of the party, said, "The decision to contest election in Jharkhand was to be taken by the party's state unit. The party has decided to contest on 50 seats independently."

The voting for the 81-member Jharkhand assembly will be held in five phases starting from November 30 to December 20. Counting of votes will take place on December 23.

LJP had contested unsuccessfully on one seat in 2014 assembly polls in the state and this time the party was demanding at least six seats.

Meanwhile, the opposition camp has declared JMM leader Hemant Soren as their CM face. The JMM will field its candidates on 43 seats, Congress on 31 seats and RJD to contest on seven seats.

Team MP

Team MP

Our contributor helps bringing the latest updates to you

Share it