Bidhannagar civic body to announce names of elected chairmen today

Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation (BMC) will hold its first board meeting on Saturday in which the names of the newly elected borough chairmen would be announced officially. 

To provide better civic amenities, the entire area of Salt Lake and some parts of Rajarhat falling under the BMC area have been divided in six borough committee each comprising of various wards. 

The decision to elevate the status of the Bidhannagar Municipality to the BMC was the brain child of the Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee who felt the need of providing civic facilities in better way in the added areas of Rajarhat. 

After the new civic body was formed following an election in October, Sabyasachi Dutta had become 
the Mayor of the BMC. 

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had already asked the adjoining Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC) to help the newly formed BMC with its expertise and knowledge on how to develop the machineries and infrastructure of its own to provide better civic services. 

All the councilors of 41 wards, Mayor Sabyasachi Dutta and the Mayor-in-Councils will be present in Saturday’s meeting in which discussion will take place mainly on the developmental issues. 

The names of the newly elected chairmen in all six boroughs will be announced officially on Saturday in the board meeting which will be held at the BMC office in Salt Lake. 

There was resentment among a section of local residents as there had been a delay in the selection of the borough chairmen after conclusion of the poll in October as they claimed that the delay 
was hampering the development. 

According to unconfirmed sources, Sahanawaz Mondal may be named the chairman of borough I while Manish Mukherjee, has been proposed to become the chairman of borough II. 

The names of Sujit Mondal , Banibrata Banerjee, Anita Mondal, Minu Das Chakraborty are appearing as the contender of borough III, IV, V and VI respectively. 

It has been learnt that Rajarhat will find equal representation in the selection of borough chairmen depending on the number of wards. 
M Post Bureau

M Post Bureau

Our Contributor help bring you the latest article around you


View All

Latest News

View All
Share it